RSS

Belated Happy Publication Day. Book Review: Bridal Girl by Meredith Schorr.

28 Apr
Belated Happy Publication Day. Book Review: Bridal Girl by Meredith Schorr.

Congratulations on publication day (April 24th 2018) to the lovely, funny and talented Meredith Schorr. I am so happy to post my review of this book today. As a fan of Meredith’s writing, I was very grateful to be given the chance to read this book before publication day. Thank you Meredith.

Here is my review for Bridal Girl by Meredith Schorr.

Description:

Warning: exposure to the contents of this book while eating or drinking could cause laughter-induced choking. Read at your own risk.

Sassy book blogger-turned-author, Kim Long, thought her life couldn’t get any pinker when she received a two-book publishing deal and a marriage proposal in the same night. The wedding plans are coming together seamlessly, from the catering to the flowers to her much-coveted appointment at the exclusive and world famous Kleinfeld Bridal. Her debut novel is flying off the shelves to celebrated reviews, and her second book is practically writing itself.

If only the above wasn’t a big fat lie.

If only Kim could drown out the conflicting opinions of her overzealous bridal party, most notably, her sister and future sister-in-law, who haven’t stopped bickering since day one.

If only everyone would adore her first book—or she’d take Nicholas’s advice and stop reading reviews—she might not second guess every new word she writes.

If only Nicholas’s past would remain there rather than threaten their future.
The pressure is on, the clock is ticking, and in walks Hannah Marshak.

Will the former “mean girl” lend a helping hand or make things worse? Will Kim ever write “The End” on her sophomore novel? And, will she and Nicholas make it down the aisle to say those two precious words: I do?

We’ll never tell. So, put on your reading glasses, fill your champagne flute/cup of tea and prepare to laugh with (and sometimes at) Kim as she rewrites her happy ending until it’s worthy of five pink champagne flutes.

bridal girl

April 24th 2018 by Henery Press

My Thoughts:

I have read the previous two books by Meredith Schorr in this Blogger Girl series. Blogger Girl and Novelista Girl were brilliant, and Bridal Girl follows in the same steps. All books can be read as standalone, but as always the previous ones are great to read too. Personally I loved Novelista Girl best.

Bridal Girl follows Kim and Nicolas’ Wedding preparations, which take place at the same time that Kim is writing her second novel. Both are time sensitive and as is typically Meredith Schorr style, the laughter, mix ups and debacles that follow Kim are perfect for this Blogger Girl 3rd book.

If you have read the previous books in this series, you will be familiar with Hannah Marshak, former Mean Girl. Hannah had to make an appearance in this book, and she did so brilliantly.

My favourite part of this book was where Kim talks about her writing and we learn about her publishing experience. There are funny and heart warming moments, and I wonder if many of these experiences are relatable in the Author’s personal experiences. Meredith writes smoothly and believably, drawing the reader right into Kim’s life and emotions.

I don’t want to give spoilers, but there was something that niggled both Kim and I through part of the book, and when the turn of events became apparent, it left Kim and I in a state of giggles! If you have read this book, I’m sure you will know which part I’m talking about.

The characters of Kim and her best friends Bridget and Caroline are brilliant. They have a wonderfully special relationship together. And as the tale continues, the Author and reader side of Kim and her friends are so obvious. This is the part of Kim that made me love her right from the first book.

“She nodded and removed her e reader from her purse. Her habit of reading anytime and anywhere she had a free moment was almost as bad as mine.”

I would like to finish my review with this super photo! When I saw this on my kindle, I did quite a woop of joy! A mention of thanks to me, from the lovely and talented Author Meredith Schorr. Thank you for mentioning me, it means a lot.

20180412_175523.jpg

Have you read any of the Blogger Girl series? Can you relate to Kim and her bookish ways? Which of the 3 books did you like best?

Links:

Goodreads.

Amazon.com

Amazon.co.uk

Twitter/@MeredithSchorr

 
13 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2018 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Belated Happy Publication Day. Book Review: Bridal Girl by Meredith Schorr.

  1. Lindsay | Bookboodle

    April 28, 2018 at 8:31 pm

    I’ve not read this series but they sound like good fun!
    Congrats on your mention – such a good feeling when that happens 🙂
    #TalkoftheTown

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 29, 2018 at 8:36 am

      Thank you, there were lots of parts in the first book especially that were relatable as a bookblogger. That is what appealed to me at first. I love that my name was mentioned. 🙂

       
  2. shazjera

    April 29, 2018 at 7:17 am

    This sounds like an entertaining read that leaves you with a fuzzy feeling of warmth Amanda.

    Very special to be named 😀

    Thanks for linking #TalkoftheTown

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 29, 2018 at 8:38 am

      It was exactly that Shaz. Hey your comment came up with no problems! Yay. 😉

       
      • shazjera

        April 29, 2018 at 9:16 am

        Woooohooo I must be approved on your site now 😀

         
  3. Meggy | Chocolate'n'Waffles

    April 29, 2018 at 4:09 pm

    I love the sound of this fun story! Like you, I’d be drawn to the publishing story and I’d wonder if they come from the author’s personal experience. I need to keep this series in mind when I need something new!

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 29, 2018 at 5:48 pm

      I did a buddy read of the first book in the series with Irena. She didn’t enjoy it as much as I did, but I love the blogger, author, publishing side of it. Thanks Meggy.

       
  4. meredithgschorr

    April 29, 2018 at 6:12 pm

    Thank you so much, Amanda! I’m so glad you enjoyed Book 3! I know exactly what part of the book you are referring to 🙂

    It was my pleasure to include your name in the acknowledgements! Your support of this series and my writing in general means so much to me. XOXO.

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 4, 2018 at 9:34 pm

      I thought you would know what part I was referring to. Great plot twist and not what I was expecting at all.
      I have loved the Blogger Girl series. Thanks again for my mention. I still smile when I think about it. 😊

       
  5. Chloe

    May 4, 2018 at 8:49 pm

    This sounds like a hilarious book…I may have to add the first book in the series to my TBR so I don’t forget about it! And congrats for being in the acknowledgements x

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 4, 2018 at 9:31 pm

      Thank you Chloe. It was amazing to see my name there. The first 2 books are excellent and I really recommend them. There is also a YA book out by the same author based on when the characters were at school. ‘Kim versus the Mean Girl ‘ That was really good too. Thanks for stopping by. ☺📚💟

       
  6. Madam Mim

    May 5, 2018 at 1:36 pm

    Sounds like a good series! Great review ❤️

     

Leave a comment