RSS

Book Review: One? by Jennifer L Cahill.

18 Nov
Book Review: One? by Jennifer L Cahill.

Thank you very much to Author Jennifer L Cahill for offering me the opportunity to read and review her first novel, which is set to have a sequel very soon. After reading the blurb, I was pretty sure I would enjoy ‘One?’. It wasn’t until after I had read the blurb that I saw how lovely and clever the cover design is for the book. We can see faces with London in the middle. Very fitting for this story.

REVIEW

The thought process for a review starts here!

Description:

One?

It’s London in the mid-noughties before Facebook, iPhones and ubiquitous wifi.
Zara has just moved to London for her first real job and struggles to find her feet in a big city with no instruction manual. Penelope works night and day in an investment bank with little or no time for love. At twenty-eight she is positively ancient as far as her mother is concerned and the pressure is on for her to settle down as the big 3-0 is looming. Charlie spends night and day with his band who are constantly teetering on the verge of greatness. Richard has relocated to London from his castle in Scotland in search of the one, and Alyx is barely in one place long enough to hold down a relationship let alone think about the future. One? follows the highs and lows of a group of twenty-somethings living in leafy SW4

One?

Published June 21st 2018

My Thoughts:

Firstly, just look at that cover, its so clever and lovely! Secondly, if you have read the blurb, (and depending on your age), you will be brought back to an era where there were no iphones, no social media and no good reliable wi fi! If you are not old enough, then yes believe it or not, there was a time not too long ago, when you had to look up in a book if you wanted to find something out.

‘One?’ goes back in time, where Zara looks for a video shop to pass her time,rather than Netflix. Although some things never change, like dipping chocolate digestives in tea! (great idea Zara).

I really enjoyed this book and am already looking forward to ‘Two‘. We follow main characters Zara and Penelope who house share in London while they navigate their way through the highs and lows of living and working in London.

Reading this book took me back to a time when I was in London, the highs and lows and finding your way through the social life, the travel system and work! This was a part of the reason why I enjoyed the book so much, I could relate to the characters and the area. Penelope and Charlie are used to London, while Zara is new and needs advice and guidance from Penelope. We see friendships develop naturally, and also discussions of relationships and ‘TheOne’. I loved the part where a female character has to explain women’s thoughts on this to a male character. She does a great job, even adding in what happens during divorce!

The story is not all about finding love, so don’t be fooled by the title into thinking this is all about finding ‘The One’, its more about the trials and tribulations of a few young people getting by in London in the early naughties. ‘One?’ is about friendships, getting by, fun and a few chance meetings here and there. London city is the perfect setting for this book. We also get a great tip from Penelope, though I haven’t yet tried it, but would be interested to know if it works….? The best hangover cure according to Penelope, (or is it Author Jennifer Cahill?), “Red Hula Hoops and Coke”. Let me know if you try this!

 

Links:

Twitter/JLCAuthor

www.jenniferlcahill.com

Amazon.co.uk

Amazon.com

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2018 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Book Review: One? by Jennifer L Cahill.

  1. irena_bookdustmagic

    November 19, 2018 at 10:17 am

    This sounds like nice, nostalgic book. Sometimes I miss those times when not everything was so available.
    And this also sounds like a comfortable read that I would enjoy. I will put it on my tbr list.
    P.S. At first I have no idea why, but I thought this was a thriller because of the Title, but now I see it is something more of my choice. I am glad you liked it and I hope you’ll read the next book by this author too.

     
  2. Meggy | Chocolate'n'Waffles

    November 22, 2018 at 7:50 pm

    I love the sound of this novel! I was young but I still remember the times when books and encyclopedias were the main source of information and when we didn’t have those small boxes ringing every five minutes with notifications… I fell in love with London so I’d love to go back through this book! Fab review! xxx

     
  3. agathazaza

    December 13, 2018 at 2:03 am

    I’m intrigued. I love it when a review leads me to an author I’ve never read. I’m ready for some nostalgia

     
    • chocolatepages

      December 13, 2018 at 7:58 pm

      Thank you, what a lovely compliment. If you read this, I hope you love it.

       

Leave a comment