RSS

Book Review: A Stranger’s House by Clare Chase.

07 May
Book Review: A Stranger’s House by Clare Chase.

‘A Stranger’s House is Clare Chase’s second novel. I was very happy when I heard that it had been published, as I really loved her first one. Therefore setting the scale of my hopes for her second! Clare’s first book ‘So You Think You Know Me’ was brilliant. You can read my review of it HERE!

But now for my thoughts on her latest release…..I loved it. 

 

strangers house

Description:

What if you were powerless to protect the person you cared about most?

When Ruby finds out that her partner has done the unforgivable, she has no option but to move out of their home. With nowhere else to go, a job house-sitting in Cambridge seems like the perfect solution.

But it’s soon clear the absent owner hurts everyone he gets close to, and Ruby’s faced with the fallout. As violent repercussions unfold, her instinct is to investigate: it’s a matter of self-preservation. And besides, she’s curious…

But Ruby’s new boss, Nate Bastable, has his eye on her and seems determined to put a stop to her sleuthing. Is he simply worried for the welfare of a member of staff, or is there something altogether more complicated – and potentially dangerous – at play?

Publisher: Choc Lit (12 Feb. 2016)

 

My Thoughts:

The lead character in this book is Ruby, after splitting with her partner finds herself in a difficult situation with nowhere to go. She takes on a job as a house sitter. I have often thought a house sitter would be a great job – paid for living and keeping an eye on a house that you don’t have to pay any bills for, and usually really nice houses! After reading this book, I am a bit more sceptical! This house led to a lot of stressful encounters for Ruby. Great idea for a crime mystery though! 

This book leads us through Ruby and Nate’s point of view. Ruby is a great character, the Author has put enough detail and thought into Ruby that I could understand her thoughts and movements. Ruby is a writer and her investigations about her books show through in her interest into the mysteries she encounters in A Stranger’s House. She is brave yet emotional. If she weren’t emotional after all she had been through, the character wouldn’t have worked I think.  

Nate is a great character too, I didn’t understand him as easily as I did Ruby. I think the Author did this on purpose so that we are left guessing throughout the story. A side line character is Ruby’s friend Steph. I wasn’t as keen on her. I don’t think she was there for Ruby as much as she should have been. But as a side line character maybe we were only supposed to see glimpses of her?

I like that this story was based in Cambridge, you can tell the the Author is writing where she knows very well. I haven’t ever been to Cambridge, but I would re read this book if I were to visit. Although I enjoy crime books set in America, I always find the British based ones that tiny bit more relate-able.

There were twists and turns of suspense throughout this novel. It is a page turner to make me suspect everyone. But I didn’t guess until the last few chapters, just before Nate and Ruby. However, I had the insight of hearing the surrounding story which Nate and Ruby did not, despite Ruby’s investigating. As I think back over the book there are clue’s throughout, which made the ‘light bulb’s’ go on in my head as I considered them.

The Author’s imagination to create full rounded characters and great plot lines is what will keep me reading Clare Chase’s books even without knowing the synopsis. The expectations are set high for your third book Clare! Keep writing please!

 

line

 

Links:

GOODREADS

AMAZON.COM

AMAZON.CO.UK

Twitter/ClareChase_

ClareChase.com

 

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
 
16 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2016 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Book Review: A Stranger’s House by Clare Chase.

  1. Clare Chase

    May 7, 2016 at 9:55 am

    Thanks so much for the lovely review, Amanda. Hope to meet you if you ever make the trip to Cambridge!

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 7, 2016 at 10:17 am

      I will be sure to let you know if I’m down that way. Thank you.

       
  2. CPhilippou123

    May 7, 2016 at 10:36 am

    Great review! I loved this book too 😊

     
  3. irena_bookdustmagic

    May 7, 2016 at 1:28 pm

    Really good review, Amanda! I can see you loved this one. And I hope Chase will continue with her writing because you liked it that much. 🙂

     
  4. Florence

    May 7, 2016 at 8:40 pm

    Excellent review – very interested in reading this book

     
  5. justsayingmum

    May 15, 2016 at 7:17 pm

    Oh thank you for this review – I’ve not read anything by her before so will look out for it when I do my next kindle download! I also love books set in the UK – thank you for sharing #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 16, 2016 at 7:35 pm

      The difference between books in UK and USA wasn’t something I had considered until I started reading a lot more, but it does make a difference to the way I see the story in my head. Thank you for your comments, enjoy your kindle downloads.

       
      • justsayingmum

        May 16, 2016 at 7:47 pm

        It really does – doesn’t it? – you are welcome x

         
  6. Kat

    May 17, 2016 at 3:59 pm

    This sounds really interesting! I want to give this a read! #kcacols

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 17, 2016 at 5:04 pm

      Thank you, if you do I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

       
  7. A Moment with Franca

    May 22, 2016 at 12:55 pm

    Another great review Amanda. This sounds like my type of book. I like the idea to share the trailer too. It makes it even more interesting. Thanks so much for sharing this at #KCACOLS. I’m so sorry to commenting so late. My week was very hectic. But it is better later than never right? 😉 xx

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 22, 2016 at 1:13 pm

      No worries about the lateness, its nice to get comments any time.
      I liked the trailer idea too, it gives you an instant idea of the book.
      Thank you.

       
  8. Hannah Spannah Coco Banana

    July 20, 2016 at 8:34 pm

    Oooh, I actually really like the sound of this story. Every time I read your reviews I want to buy the book. My taste for suspense has lowered since I became a mum- I just can’t cope with it (!) but maybe I should give it a go! Thanks for joining the #weekendblogshare

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 21, 2016 at 5:37 pm

      I can understand that, maybe easy reads that are comforting would be better. That’s a lovely compliment to say my reviews, make you want to buy the books, thank you.
      Thanks for hosting #weekendblogshare.

       

Leave a Reply

 
