RSS

Things I have Learnt Since Book Blogging.

04 Jul
Things I have Learnt Since Book Blogging.

I have been bookblogging for just over a year, and I would to share with you some of the things that I learnt along the way.

books cp

1. I chose my name carefully, I found that it was a lot easier to link all my social accounts, particularly Goodreads, blog and Twitter. 

ChocolatePages.wordpress.com     @Chocolate_pages   Goodreads.com/ChocolatePages.

home badge

2. I read and reviewed a few of my own books first, then when my blog was a bit more established I found that the requests from authors and publishers came in naturally. Through talking to other bloggers, I found I can link up and join book tours and authors have come to me, which is amazing!

raven

3. I follow other bookbloggers and read and comment on their blogs. It keeps up my enthusiasm and apart from finding new fabulous blogs to read, I have made blogging like minded friends. This makes it even more enjoyable.

happiness shared

4. I joined Netgalley, which was a great find. Lots of books to browse, request, read and review.

WellnessBadge

5. I can be honest in my reviews, I’m not afraid not to write any negative things.But it has to be tactful. What I don’t like, others may like. Usually though, if I finish a book there will be plenty of positive things to write about it.

maybe

6. Work with the authors, the authors want us to love their books and I want to love them. If I write good honest reviews, then it seems the authors appreciate it. I love it when authors comment on the reviews I have written on their books. 

 author love

7. Twitter chats #bookbloggers 7 – 8 pm Tuesday, this chat is fantastic. Its my favourite, you get to meet other bookbloggers and share your love of it.  Photo below and host of #bookbloggers chat is: @BookBlogChat

 

bookblogchat

8. I used to get a bit disheartened with the numbers. I have learnt not to worry too much about them. I still love to get a new blog follower and lots of views. But I love to write it, and as long as some people read, comment and like my posts, then that’s ok. I am pleased to say this though:

1428017486197

9. I enjoy blogging, if I stop enjoying it,then there’s no point. If I get to the stage when I need a break or I stop enjoying it then I will take a break. But since blogging, I have found a hobby that I really enjoy. I can read, write and interact with like minded people while doing it.

 blog friends

10. I think in blogging, you have to be yourself. I can be myself here, tell you my love of chick lit books. And if you don’t agree with me, then thats ok. Its my blog! 

blog given right

Thanks for reading my blog, are you a blogger? Do you have any great tips or anything you can share that you have learnt? Or do you just enjoy reading blogs? What do you like best? Let me know, I’d love to hear from you.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 4, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Things I have Learnt Since Book Blogging.

  1. emma bee

    July 4, 2015 at 12:57 pm

    such a great posting!
    I agree with you 🙂
    I have always said that its ok to write about a book you have not particularly enjoy, just dont be rude about it.
    Its soul destroying sometimes when you work hard on a post and hardly anybody reads it, but i do it too because i enjoy it and because it lets me interact with likeminded people. I love your name!

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 4, 2015 at 1:09 pm

      Thank you. I agree its so dissapointing when you get low views for particular posts, but then its great even if you get a couple of comments that like it or agree with you. I have definetly gotten more comments since I started commenting on other blogs, plus there is always lots to learn from others blogs.
      Thanks for commenting and your compliments.

       
  2. Lisa @ Reading, Writing, and Random Musings

    July 4, 2015 at 6:09 pm

    I enjoyed this post! I have a relatively new blog myself, and I can identify with your thoughts on working to not get too wrapped up in numbers….it can be so easy when you hear about the numbers of others. I’ve recently found your blog, and I absolutely love your style! Keep up the good work!

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 4, 2015 at 6:12 pm

      Thank you for the lovely compliments. I love my blog, and its just the cherry on top when I get such lovely comments like yours.

       
  3. stuckinscared

    July 4, 2015 at 7:14 pm

    It is disheartening when a lot of work goes into a post and it seems to go unnoticed, it’s strange that often it’s the posts that (in our opinion) aren’t that special are the ones that grab the attention, and posts that have taken hours (days even) to put together don’t. I used to get hung up on stats too, now I rarely check them.

    You have a lovely blog…love the name 🙂
    #weekendbloghop

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 5, 2015 at 12:58 am

      Thank you very much, I really like my name too. I think it represents my blog really well. I still check my stats, but not nearly as much as I used too.
      Thank you for the lovely compliments.

       
  4. crimeworm

    July 5, 2015 at 5:04 am

    I’m glad I’ve found you! I’m a fellow blogger, at crimeworm.WordPress.com, covering mostly…yep, crime, domestic noir, police procedural, spy stories, historical crime fiction, and anything else I fancy – some non-crime, nowadays, as I gain my confidence reviewing. Feel free to drop by!

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 5, 2015 at 10:08 am

      Sounds like the kind of blog that I would like. I have been getting more and more into crime and thrillers recently. I will hop over and have a browse. Thanks.

       
  5. Lifewithrossye

    July 14, 2015 at 7:38 pm

    Amanda, what a great written blog post! I love it. I absolutely agree with you – it’d okay to write about a book you don’t enjoyed so much, but hey others maybe love this one, who knows?! 🙂 you received comments from the authors?! That’s amazing, really amazing. And, do you know what? After reading this post of you I felt inspired. I never thought that my readers will enjoy reading a book review, but after that I will write one, just to see. Maybe there are people who will enjoy. Thank you so much for sharing this with us, absolutely I will mention you when I post my first book review.
    And I think now is the time to tell you – THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT! Means a lot to me 💝
    Sending to you my positive energy
    Kisses, Rossye P.
    P. S. You know, my English is not perfect, so hope you understand what I write 🙂

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 15, 2015 at 7:36 pm

      Hi Rossye, That I think is the nicest comment I have received during my time blogging. Thank you so much, it is a huge compliment that my blog has inspired you. I love writing book reviews and its great to discuss the books with others who have read the same book.
      I hope you do write a review, and your readers will like it. I will read it for sure.
      Thank you also for your support in my blog.
      Love Amanda. x

       

Leave a Reply

 
